top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabriel Fassenfelt

Urn



This short film was created for a UCA project where the goal was to make a piece of work inspired by a painting. I chose Rene Magritte's 'The Great War' to be my inspiration as I was very intrigued by the style and the meaning behind it. Originally I wanted to recreate a more futuristic version of the painting through photography, covering the subject's face with technology instead of flowers like the original. I wanted the meaning behind it to be both a warning about the dangers technology could bring us, but also the excitement about what could be made. A very contradictory message on purpose.


Throughout the project this developed into a short film where my goal was to now replace the subject's hand instead of their face. This was my first attempt at CGI and it turned out better than anticipated. I also now had two actors instead of one to help push the idea of contrast. The downside of this project was lack of time, in the end filming had to be rushed with very little planning, which resulted in the original meaning being less clear in the final outcome.


The full project can be found here

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page